Curated by The Sharon Historical Society
The names of the roads here in Sharon
are all uniquely tied to the history of their locations.
In this tour we will explore the people connected to
four roads: Calkinstown Road, Gay Street, Jewett Hill
Road, and Williams Road.
In the photo above, Board of Trustees
member Charles Tomlinson (who lives on Calkinstown Road)
shares the story of Stephen Calkin during our 2006 Hillside
Cemetery tour. Calkin (1706 -1781) came to Sharon from
Lebanon, CT, and was one of the original proprietors
of our town.